Making Balsa Floats

Had a bit of time on my hands over the holidays so i decided to make my own floats.  I’ve lost quite a few this season and it is costing a fair bit so i thought i could make a bunch and save some money.  Well, that’s not really going to happen because i spent more money on the material than it thought.  Oh well, fishing is expensive.

Here is a few pics.
IMG_1443 IMG_1445

This took a few days to get to but the hardest part was the painting of the top. I don’t have an airbrush yet so this was painted with a sponge. Took me at last 6 – 8 coats to get it evenly covered but if you look closely, there are a few lines. But whatever, that is the best i could do by hand. You might be thinking that i could just dip it but the paint is a bit too thick and i didn’t want to have such a thick top. So, by hand it was.

Here is the finish product after 8 coats of gloss to bring out the shine.
IMG_2512-LR-1 IMG_2508-LR-1

6 thoughts on “Making Balsa Floats

    • I purchased the balsa wood from a hobby shop around 10bucks. That was enough to make 3 floats, 1″ x 1″ x 10″. I’m not sure what you mean by making it from scratch but this was turned on a drill press then hand painted. Hope that answers your question. The hobby shop was in Richmond near the wendy’s on 3road.

Leave a comment